Legal Self-Help Guide: Self-Help Resources

These are resources that cover a range of legal topics and can be helpful to anyone.

• Illinois Legal Aid Online offers resources and information about many legal issues as well as a library of forms. The website is available in English and Spanish.
• Nolo provides articles and simple explanations of a wide range of legal issues. Additionally, their website includes a dictionary of legal terms.
• Cornell's Legal Information Institute publishes the laws of every state and provides an encyclopedia and dictionary of legal terms.
• Justia has guides and frequently asked questions about various legal topics. They also have information about receiving legal aid.
• How to Research a Legal Problem: A Guide for Non-Lawyers is a short guide that will walk you through the legal research process.
• Approved Statewide Standardized Forms is a collection of forms that can be used in any Illinois court.
• Illinois Court Help provides guidance about legal processes and how to navigate Illinois courts.
• Legal Self-Help Centers are locations where you can find more useful resources!

• Illinois-Based Immigration Resources is a collection of resources for those facing legal issues related to immigration. Most of these resources are available in English and Spanish.
• Immi offers a wide range of resources and information for immigrants, available in English and Spanish.

• Illinois Prison Project offers a variety of tools for those who are or have been incarcerated. This includes information about pardons and medical release. Many resources are available in Spanish.
• The Office of the State Appellate Defender publishes handbooks about Criminal Law and Briefs and Oral Arguments.
• A Jailhouse Lawyer's Manual is a handbook of the rights available to incarcerated people.

• Illinois Court-Based Rental Assistance Program Toolkit covers the process of obtaining rental assistance for those facing eviction.
• Illinois State Bar Association provides a guide to landlord-tenant law.